We are seeking your views on revision of the Telecommunications in New Developments policy.

How it works

Why we want your input
We are seeking your views so we understand what is working in the policy and what could be improved.
How you can voice your opinion
You can provide a submission by Friday 17 January 2020.
What will be the outcome of this consultation?
Your comments will help inform updates to the Telecommunications in New Developments policy before 1 July 2020.

Consultation Information

Consultation tabs

The Issue
Consultation Period:  November 25, 2019 08:00 AEDT to January 17, 2020 17:00 AEDT

We are seeking comments on the Telecommunications in New Developments policy, which came into effect in March 2015.

Since the introduction of this policy, a lot has changed in the way telecommunications infrastructure is delivered in new developments. The National Broadband Network (NBN) rollout will also be completed in 2020.

In light of these changes, we are reviewing the TIND policy so it continues to provide people moving into new developments with access to timely telecommunications infrastructure.

We have released a short paper covering issues we would like your feedback on. You are also welcome to comment on any aspect of the current policy.

We are aiming to complete the review of the policy and make any necessary changes before 1 July 2020.

Relevant Documentation

Review of the 2015 Telecommunications in New Developments (TIND) policy

Published 22nd Nov 2019

Download PDF (273.61 KB) Download DOC (125.11 KB)
In light of recent and upcoming changes in the provision of telecommunications in new developments we are reviewing the 2015 TIND policy. This document is seeking comments from any interested parties including consumers, the telecommunications industry, developers, all levels of government and others.

Participate

Started November 25, 2019 08:00 AEDT
Ends January 17, 2020 17:00 AEDT
Days Remaining 34 of 53
Open

Formal Submission

We invite you to to tell us your views on this topic.

Please include:

  • contact name
  • organisation name, if applicable
  • contact details, including telephone number, postal and email addresses
  • confirmation whether or not your submission can be made public—published—or kept confidential.

All submissions to be made public need to meet the Digital Service Standard for accessibility. Any submission that does not meet this standard may be modified before being made public.

If your submission is to be made public, please ensure you do not include any personal information that you don't want to be published.

Please click on the 'Have your say now' button below to upload your submission.

Alternatively please email your completed template submission to new.developments [at] communications.gov.au or send it to:

New Development
Department of Communications and the Arts
GPO Box 2154
Canberra ACT 2601