We are seeking feedback on the draft report of the Review of the Australian Communications and Media Authority (ACMA). The Review is designed to ensure the ACMA remains fit-for-purpose in the rapidly changing communications environment.

How it works

Why we want your input
We want your feedback to ensure the ACMA is better equipped to regulate the modern communications industry.
How you can voice your opinion
You can provide a written submission by COB 10 June 2016.
What will be the outcome of this consultation?
Feedback from the consultation will be used to inform the development of the final report which we will provide to Government in mid-2016.

Consultation Information

Consultation tabs

The Issue
Consultation Period: 
May 06, 2016 09:00 AEST to June 10, 2016 17:00 AEST

On 12 June 2015, the then Minister for Communications, the Hon Malcolm Turnbull MP, announced a review of the ACMA.

The purpose of the review is to examine the objectives, function, structure, governance and resource base of the ACMA to ensure it remains fit-for-purpose for both the contemporary and future communications regulatory environment.

We are leading the Review and released an issues paper in July 2015, which invited responses from interested parties. This input, further consultation with industry stakeholders and engaging with the Reference Group, informed the development of this draft report which articulates our findings and puts forward a number of draft reform proposals to modernise the ACMA's objectives, functions and governance arrangements and establish clear performance expectations.

We are particularly interested in your views on our assessment of the operating environment, and what implications this has for a future regulator and regulatory regime.

Relevant documentation

Relevant Documentation

ACMA Review Draft Report

Published 6th May 2016

Download PDF (1.76 MB) Download DOC (1.29 MB)
ACMA Review Draft Report

Participate

Started May 06, 2016 09:00 AEST
Ended June 10, 2016 17:00 AEST
Days Remaining 0 of 35
Submissions now public

The following formal submissions have been made public.

Australian Broadcasting Corporation

Australian Communications and Media Authority

Australian Communications Consumer Action Network

Australian Competition and Consumer Commission

Australian Council on Children and the Media

Australian Law Reform Commission

Australian Narrowcast Radio Association

Australian Public Library Alliance and Australian Library and Information Association

Australian Wagering Council

Pages