The Government has announced the locations that will receive new and improved mobile coverage in the latest round of the Mobile Black Spot Program.
5 April 2018

Optus, Telstra and Vodafone will receive $45.6 million in funding to build 102 new base stations under the Priority Locations round of the program.

In 2016, the Government committed to improving mobile coverage to 125 priority locations. Nineteen of these have already been addressed under previous rounds and other Government programs, or through mobile carriers expanding their networks commercially. A further four will be addressed by Optus and Telstra through commercial arrangements.

The funding for these priority locations will also provide for at least 12 hours of back-up power at each macro base station to help ensure mobile coverage is not lost in the event of a power outage.

The first of the Priority Locations base stations will be rolled out by the end of this year. The rollout schedules for all three rounds of the program will shortly be available on the Telstra, Optus and Vodafone websites.

Find out more