Australian Business Number (ABN)

51 491 646 726

Postal address

Department of Communications
GPO Box 2154
Canberra ACT 2601

Street address

38 Sydney Avenue
Forrest ACT 2603


General inquiries: 1800 254 649 (free call) or 02 6271 1000 (international +61 2 6271 1000)

The switchboard is available Monday to Friday from 9.00 am to 5.00 pm (Australian Eastern Time) except for public holidays in the Australian Capital Territory.


To send email to officers in the department, use the format

If you do not know who to contact regarding a particular issue, please use the This link opens a DBCDE web page contact form to send your communications.

Website and technical difficulties

To report a technical difficulty or problem with the website, please use the This link opens a DBCDE web page report a technical fault online form.


02 6271 1901 (international +61 2 6271 1901)

Media inquiries

Telephone 02 6271 1777 or email

Report fraud

How to report information about any activity that may constitute fraud against the department.

Users who are deaf or have a hearing or speech impairment

Please contact the department through the National Relay Service:

  • TTY users phone 133 677 then ask for 02 6271 1000
  • Speak and Listen (speech-to-speech relay) users phone 1300 555 727 then ask for 02 6271 1000
  • internet relay users connect to External site and then ask for 02 6271 1000

Translating or interpreting services

People who need assistance with English can telephone 131 450 for the Translating and Interpreting Service National, which offers support for over 120 languages and dialects at any time of the day or night.

Contact Minister

Minister for Communications
The Hon Malcolm Turnbull MP

Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Communications
The Hon Paul Fletcher MP

Portfolio bodies

Australian Communications and Media Authority 02 6219 5555 External site
Australian Broadcasting Corporation 02 8333 1500 External site
Australian Postal Corporation (Australia Post) 03 9204 7171 External site
NBN Co Ltd 1800 687 626 External site
Special Broadcasting Service (SBS) 1800 500 727 External site
Telecommunications Universal Service Management Agency 03 9097 8300 External site
Back to top